NRCA WP banner - update

NRCA home iconNRCA-details

28 Years and Going Strong

Welcome to a new year of the National Readers Choice Awards. First held back in 1991, the NRCA has consistently showcased the best in romance novels published each year. We will celebrate the winners of this year’s contest in New York City in July, 2019, though the books will have been published in 2018. I’m stepping back into my previous position as the NRCA Contest Chair and I look forward to working with our reader/judges, authors, and my category coordinators as we commerorate our 27th year.

All the best,

                                                 Silver James, 2018 NRCA Contest Chair

Congratulations to the 2017 winners of the 26th Annual National Readers’ Choice winners, announced at this year’s National Readers’ Choice Awards ceremony in Denver. Thank you to all of our entrants and judges for helping to make this contest the success it is. Sadly, I am stepping down as contest chair coordinator and refocusing my efforts in the Seattle area where I now reside.

Most Sincerely,

Kathy L Wheeler – 2017 NRCA Contest Chair

Listed are the 2017 NRCA winners!


The House-Sitter’s Christmas – Jean C. Joachim

Young Adult

Birthright – Jessica Ruddick

Romantic Suspense

Uncovered – JB Schroeder

Contemporary Series Romance / Suspense Adventure

Indigo Lake – Jodi Thomas

Contemporary Series Romance

A Charmed Little Lie – Sharla Lovelace

Contemporary Single Title

Can’t Fight this Feeling  – Miranda Liasson


Dangerous Illusions – Irene Hannon


Diomere’s Exile – Sabrina A. Fish

Erotic Romance

At His Mercy – Shelly Bell


Love with a Scottish Outlaw – Gayle Callen

Novel w/Strong Romantic Elements

If Ever – Angie Stanton

Best 1st Book

Snapdragon – Kilby Blades – Erotic Romance